Showing posts with label tire cover. Show all posts
Showing posts with label tire cover. Show all posts

Thursday, June 21, 2012

No Tire Cover, But....

    I still haven't installed my new crocheted tire cover. My friend and I decided it was too freaking hot to be that active.  It would have only taken a few seconds to get completely drenched in sweat. Hopefully we will be able to try tomorrow. I did accomplish my task of buying a new battery for the camera, though. So the day wasn't completely wasted.


    I'm really looking forward to having the new cover on the spare! It is so well known around town, I can't help but wonder what comments I'll get. I've had people next to me at stoplights roll down their windows and tell me how much they like it! Strangers in parking lots, too! It's fun and different, and there aren't any other tire covers like it around here.



    Also today I did something my Hubs has been bugging me to do, I went to the pharmacy and had a talk with my pharmicist. Last week, my pulmonologist gave me a new inhaler to try, to see if it works better for me than Advair. As I read through the accompanying papers, I discovered that the new one contains a LABA and I shouldn't take it until I check with my pharmacist to make sure none of my other meds contain a LABA.


    I know, YAWN.... But I finally went today, and the answer is "No", none of my other meds contain the nasty LABA, so I am cleared for take-off. Starting tomorrow morning. Whoopie.


    P.S. LABA stands for Long Acting Broncho-Something or other. Just so you know, and won't have to Google it.
   

    I added the knitting M&M just for a laugh. It's been too long since I posted a photo.

   

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Knitting Update

    Well, the new tire cover is done, I just need to hook up with my helper to get it on. Photo will be posted once it's applied! I did start the EZ baby surprise jacket, and I've gotten as far as I can without assistance, which means interpretation. She was a knitting genius, but sucked at pattern writing. Hey, no one's perfect! Love her anyway.


    While I am waiting, I decided to start another project, which I am keeping quiet about, as the person I'm giving it to reads my blog, sometimes. It's going pretty well, actually. Started this morning by casting on, and doing the first row, the K2 P2 ribbing didn't come out right. So I counted again, and found out I only cast on 62 stitches, when I was supposed to cast on 72. So I frogged it and put it in my bag, as it was almost time to leave for babysitting.


    While Miss Malia napped today,  I got out the mystery project (mp), cast on the correct number of stitches this time, and did the whole ribbed section.  When knitting in the round, I don't join right away, I knit the first row first, then join and continue knitting in the round. I find it much easier, and when finished, I just take the long tail and stitch the tiny gap closed. No harm no foul.


    I know my limitations, and can usually find a way to get done what needs to be done, as far as knitting goes. Like when I did the Pi Shawl. I started out knitting it back and forth, until it was big enough, then I joined it and continued in the round. After it was well established, I took the tail and gently seamed up the opening. Looks nice, and you can't tell that I am an absolute idiot when it comes to double points.


   Now for a brief word about the weather. It was, and still is, very fracking hot today. Even with the air on, I am melting. I need an ice bath, and more Edy's Fruit Pops. Pineapple and pomegranate are my two favorites. And it's gonna be more of the same tomorrow! This is not helping my breathing, either. So I'm trying to stay cool, and stay still, or there could be trouble in the breathing department.


    Well, this just sucks! I closed this post, so I could take a photo of the sweater's progress. And the batteries are dead in the camera.  Last time, I bought two, and guess what? The compartment where I put the spare is open. So it could have fallen out at anytime, anywhere. I am so completely bummed! I guess I have to go to Rite Aid tomorrow and get another one. So, I guess you'll have to wait until then to see the photos. Sorry. OK, go back to your lives now.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

My Next Two Projects....

     I finally decided it's time to replace my crocheted tire cover on my Jeep, so I've started a new one! I bought the yarn a few weeks ago, but I was waiting to be done with a few other things first, and waiting for my crochet hooks to reappear when we moved the couch out of here.


     I went with another color scheme entirely for the new one! I started with burgundy, and found a variegated yarn to go with it, called Cherry Chip. It's got the dark red, as well as tan, dark tan, and chocolate brown. I like it. Here is a photo of the two yarns, together:




      So far, so good. I'm sure Hubs will hate it, thinking it's too girly. See, he hasn't driven my Jeep very often since I put the last tire cover on, he feels the other boys will make fun of him. I even started making one out of camouflage colored yarn. But I don't like it much, so I never finished it. I probably should, since my Jeep is green, and the camo would kind of cool on the back. Here is a photo of the progress I've made so far:


     At this rate, it won't take long to finish this one off! However, I will probably need help putting it on, since it took two of us to get the last one on. I made it a bit small, so it went on nice and snug. It's been on nearly two years now, and it's starting to get a bit ratty looking. As a reminder, here is what the current one looks like!


 

 
    Well, it's now after  p.m. and I've had to stop crocheting. My hand hurts! I will rest it overnight and start again tomorrow. Here is how far I've gotten:


    That was written last night. Today, I've made more progress on the tire cover. But the going is slow, it's been a while since I crocheted this much. My hand is aching. Today, I found two skeins of Lion Brand Pound of Love in my stash, in the denim blue colorway. I like this color! It's calling me, it wants to be a blanket for a small person. But I can't decide whether to crochet a blanket or knit one. I will have to think about this some more.


    The two choices? For crochet, I would make my favorite pattern, it's only 4 rows of any one stitch, so it doesn't get too boring. It's sort of my trademark blanket, we all have one, even son-in-law Mike, and Jesse's grilfriend Julie. Even both grandkids each have one! Only fair that the next grandbaby gets one too.


    The other, knitted option, would be to make that EZ blanket I started with the yarn I can't find any more of to finish it. I would make it a bit smaller, and with the two pounds of yarn, that should be plenty to make a finished blanket. Here's a photo of the yarn:



    It looks pretty against the pink of my chair, doesn't it!  As you probably guessed, I made the pillow cover that the yarn is sitting on too. It's on a pillow from our former couch. The corner where I sat kind of sank, so I would sit on the pillow to raise myself up to normal seat height.


    If anyone has any opinions on which blanket I should make, please feel free to leave me a comment!